Home » 2016 » May (Page 2)

Monthly Archives: May 2016

Jeff Putzier Celebrates 25 Years!

Technology In Education (TIE) Conference

In April, BIT/DDN and the K-12 Data Center presented their annual “State of the DDN” presentation at the Technology In Education (TIE) Conference held in Sioux Falls. The TIE Conference is an annual meeting for classroom teachers, network administrators and educational administrators. The goal of the conference is to share strategies, methods and best practices with their fellow educators in integrating technology into the learning environment.

Topics covered in the presentation:

  • Bandwidth Upgrades
  • Fortinet Updates
  • DDN Video
  • NSU E-Learning Course Expansion
  • Workstation/Server quotes
  • Microsoft EES licensing 
  • K-12 Data Center Active Directory 
  • Google Chromebook configurations 
  • Office365

Congratulations, South Dakota Public Broadcasting!

Recently, South Dakota Public Broadcasting has won seven regional Edward R. Murrow Awards out of the eight possible categories. Other constitutes of this region are: Minnesota, North Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Newscast – Gary Ellenbolt and Kealey Bultena for “Noon Newscast for September, 30, 2015.” Live coverage of shooting at Harrisburg (SD) High School.

Continuing Coverage – Victoria Wicks for “Keystone XL Pipeline in South Dakota.” Nearly 40 stories following the KXL permitting process through 2015.

Feature Reporting – Jim Kent for “Take to the Skies in a B-17 with WWII Pilot Chuck Childs.”

Sports Reporting
– Gary Ellenbolt for “State’s Smaller Schools Find Difficulty Fielding Football Teams.”

Use of Sound
– Charles Michael Ray for “50 Years of Buffalo, Adrenalin and Bullwhips.”

– Victoria Wicks for “Juveniles No Longer Face Mandatory Life without Parole: Retroactivity Still at Issue”

Overall Excellence
– SDPB Radio News staff for newscast and stories within 40-minute time limit.

Links to the winning stories can be found at:

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.
Featured from left to right: Gary Ellenbolt, Kealey Bultena, Charles Michael Ray.

Theoda Blewett Celebrates 30 Years!